Mexico’s only indigenous prison is free from drugs, rape, and corruption

07/21/16 Vice News 

Mexican Prison by Flickr user DexterPerrin find link to picThe prisoner, who comes from the Rarámuri indigenous group, says the trouble began at a traditional festival that involved downing considerable amounts of the corn-based spirit called tesgüino.

“My cousin arrived at 4am with a caliber 22 gun and began walking towards me,” he recalled, asking that his name not be used. “When I felt the bullets inside my body and all the desperation, I turned around and placed a bullet in his forehead. My cousin fell down onto the flames and I pulled him away so he would not get burned. I told another cousin to give word to the sheriff.”

Read more…

Leave a Reply

