Life looking across the US-Mexico border in El Paso: ‘You are glad you are here’

06/28/16 The Guardian 

El Paso and Juarez by Flickr user dherrera 96Efren Macias, 70, lives in a one-room rented apartment, only 1,000ft from a 15ft-high fence splitting El Paso from Mexico. His apartment is immaculately kept, the walls decorated with religious icons and pictures of his family, many of whose members live in Mexico.

Efren and his wife do not have a lot of money. They make about $1,000 a month from a small pension he receives and from her occasional home-care work. Yet they are content. “I am happy. I have a roof. I have food. I am safe. I see my family. I am not sure what more you need.”

Read more…

Leave a Reply

